Skip to main content

Fall 2017 Course Catalog

FALL 2017 HONORS COURSE CATALOG WITH COURSE DESCRIPTIONS (pdf version). 

UHON 121.001 Legacy of Storytelling CRN: 56545 

Amaris Ketcham, ketchama@unm.edu
11:00am-12:15pm  TR 

UHON 121.002 Legacy of Comedy CRN: 44288 

Maria Szasz, deschild@unm.edu
08:00am-09:15am TR
Core: Humanities

UHON 121.003 Legacy of Comedy CRN: 45439

Maria Szasz, deschild@unm.edu
12:30pm-1:45pm TR
Core: Humanities

UHON 121.004 Legacy of Darwin CRN:  48421

Jason Moore, jmoore@unm.edu

1:00pm-2:15pm MW
Core: Humanities
Read the course description.

UHON 121.005 Legacy of Dreams CRN:  30108

David Higdon, dleonhig@unm.edu
9:30am-10:45am TR
Core: Humanities
Read the course description.


UHON 121.006 Legacy of Exploration: Rites of Passage CRN:  30121

Kathryn Collison, kathrync@unm.edu
1:00pm-3:30pm M

UHON 121.007 Legacy of Exploration: Exploration of Mountains CRN:  40455

Troy Lovata, lovata@unm.edu
12:30pm-1:45pm TR

Core: Humanities
Read the course description.

UHON 121.008 Legacy of Failure CRN:  30110

Ryan Swanson, swansonr@unm.edu
9:00am-10:15am MW

Core: Humanities
Read the course description.

UHON 121.009 Legacy of Gender and Race CRN:  30111

Sheri Karmiol, metzger@unm.edu
11:00am-12:15pm MW

Core: Humanities
Read the course description. 

UHON 121.010 Legacy of Gender and Race CRN:  30112

Sheri Karmiol, metzger@unm.edu
1:00pm-2:15pm MW

UHON 121.011 Legacy of Power CRN:  56550

Renee Faubion, sanren@unm.edu
8:00am-9:15am TR

Core: Humanities
Read the course description.

UHON 121.012 Legacy of Power CRN:  30114

Renee Faubion, sanren@unm.edu
12:30pm-1:45pm TR

UHON 121.013 Legacy of Rebellion  CRN:  37395

Marygold Walsh-Dilley, marygoldwd@unm.edu
3:30pm-4:45pm TR

Core: Humanities
Read the course description. 

UHON 121.014 Legacy of Science and Society  CRN:  46734

Lizabeth Johnson, lizjohnson@unm.edu 
9:30am-10:45am TR

Core: Humanities
Read the course description.

UHON 121.015 Legacy of Science and Society CRN:  39932

Lizabeth Johnson, lizjohnson@unm.edu 
11:00am-12:15pm TR

UHON 121.016 Legacy of Social Justice CRN:  30118

Dawn Stracener, dawns@unm.edu
2:00pm-3:15pm TR

UHON 121.017 Legacy of Success CRN:  30120

Richard Obenauf, obenauf@unm.edu
11:00am-12:15pm MW

Core: Humanities
Read the course descripton.

UHON 121.018 Legacy of Success CRN:  51333

Richard Obenauf, obenauf@unm.edu
1:00pm-2:15pm  MW

UHON 121.019 Legacy of the Renegade CRN:  35933

Nora Hickey, nhickey@unm.edu
9:00am-10:15am MW

UHON 121.021 Legacy of Aztlán CRN:  59262

Myrriah Gómez, myrriahg@unm.edu
8:00am-9:15am TR

Core: Humanities
Read the course description.

UHON 121.022 Legacy of Monsters and Marvels CRN:  42387

Leslie Donovan, ldonovan@unm.edu
11:00am-12:15pm TR
Core: Humanities
Read the course description.

UHON 121.023 Legacy of Dissent and Democracy  CRN:  54115

Margo Chavez-Charles, margocc2126@yahoo.com
11:00am-12:15pm  TR

Core: Humanities
Read the course description.

UHON 121.024 Legacy of Material Culture: The Story of Our Stuff  CRN:  54984

Megan Jacobs, mejacobs@unm.edu
12:30pm-1:45pm  TR

Core: Humanities
Read the course description.

UHON 121.026

Legacy of Exploration: Exploration of Mountains  CRN:  61068

Troy Lovata, lovata@unm.edu
2:00pm-3:15pm  TR

UHON 201.001 Rhetoric and Discourse: Becoming a Better Writer CRN: 56992 

Stever Brewer, abqbrew@unm.edu
3:00pm-5:30pm M  
Core: Writing and Speaking

Read the course description.

UHON 201.002 Rhetoric and Discourse:  Mirror of My Own: Female Comics & Poetry CRN: 59263

Nora Hickey, nhickey@unm.edu
1:00pm-2:15pm  MW  
Core: Writing and Speaking

UHON 201.003 Rhetoric and Discourse: Speculative Poetry: Middle Ages to Modernity CRN: 59267

A.J. Odasso, ajodasso@unm.edu
5:30pm-8:00pm  W  
Core: Writing and Speaking
Read the course description.

UHON 202.001 Math in the World: Statistics  CRN: 53474

Carmen Sorge, sorge@unm.edu
11:00am-12:15pm   MW  
Core: Mathematics

UHON 203.001 Science in the 21st Century: Physics is Everywhere CRN: 49729

Carmen Sorge, sorge@unm.edu
9:00am-10:15am   MW 
Core: Physical and Natural Science

UHON 203.003 Science in the 21st Century: Physics is Everywhere w/Lab CRN: 60792

Carmen Sorge, sorge@unm.edu
9:00am-11:00am   MW 
Core: Physical and Natural Science

UHON 204.001 Individual and the Collective: Globalization Human Rights CRN: 57396

Sarita Cargas, cargas@unm.edu
3:00pm-5:30pm   W 
Core: Social and Behavioral Sciences

UHON 205.001 Humanities in Society and Culture: Atomic Bomb Culture: Portrayals of Race in Literature, Film, and Music CRN: 56552

Myrriah Gómez,
9:00am-10:15am   MW 
Core: Humanities
Read the course descripton.

UHON 207.001 Fine Arts as Global Perspective: The Art of Visual Literacy CRN: 59269

Ruth Meredith,  ruthmrdth@gmail.com
3:30pm-4:45pm   TR  
Core: Fine Arts

UHON 207.002 Musical Theatre in America CRN: 48358

Maria Szasz, deschild@unm.edu
9:30am-10:45am   TR 
Core: Fine Arts

UHON 301.001 The Publication Process (Scribendi Part I) CRN: 41396

Amaris Ketcham, ketcham@unm.edu
2:00pm-3:15pm  TR

UHON 301.002 Forensic Ecology CRN: 34246

Jason Moore, jmoore@unm.edu

UHON 301.003 Global Art CRN: 44563

Megan Jacobs, mejacobs@unm.edu
11:00am-12:15pm  TR
Read the course description.

UHON 301.004 Through Another's Eyes CRN: 48239

Margo Chavez-Charles, margocc2126@yahoo.com
2:00pm-3:15pm  TR
Read the course description.

 

UHON 301.005 World Building  CRN: 59271

Betsy James, ejames04@unm.edu

 

UHON 301.006 Is Everybody Equal: The Politics of Education   CRN: 56556

Dawn Stracener, dawns@unm.edu

UHON 301.007 Food and Society   CRN: 48147

Marygold Walsh-Dilley, marygoldwd@unm.edu

UHON 301.008 Things That Make Us Smart   CRN: 46744

Chris Holden, cholden@unm.edu

UHON 301.009 Meet the Authors: Exploring the Creative Process   CRN: 30142

Steve Brewer, abqbrew@unm.edu

UHON 301.010 Getting Away With Murder: The Cultural Construction of Serial Killers   CRN: 53481

Renee Faubion, sanren@unm.edu
9:30am-10:45am  TR
Read the course description.

UHON 301.011 Artifact and Image   CRN: 43486

Troy Lovata, lovata@unm.edu

UHON 301.012 Sex and Gender in Popular Culture   CRN: 49740

Maria DeBlassie, deblassiem@unm.edu

 

UHON 301.013 Student Athlete   CRN: 41937

Ryan Swanson, swansonr@unm.edu
5:00pm-7:30pm  M
**Instructor approval required.  Interested students should email Dr. Ryan Swanson.

UHON 301.014 Assessing the Work of Bob Dylan   CRN: 46745

Michael Thomas, mthomas@unm.edu


 

UHON 301.015 Environmental Philosophy   CRN: 56557

12:30pm-1:45pm  TR
Read the course description.

UHON 301.016 What Good is Tolerance?   CRN: 56558

Richard Obenauf, obenauf@unm.edu
9:00am-10:15am  MW
Read the course description.

UHON 301.017 Researching Areu Part I   CRN: 59645

Javier Lorenzo, lorenzo@unm.edu
Class meeting time is arranged.

 

UHON 401.002 Hollywood and the Holocaust  CRN: 34249

Sheri Karmiol, metzger@unm.edu
3:00pm-4:15pm   MW
Read the course description.

UHON 401.003 Ethics: Making the Right Decision  CRN: 41836

Paul Fornell, pfornell@unm.edu

UHON 401.004 Local Games  CRN: 59265

Chirs Holden, cholden@unm.edu
2:00pm-3:15pm   TR
Read the course description.

UHON 401.005 Post War Studies: Iraq  CRN: 47862

Tim Goloversic, tgoloversic@unm.edu
5:30pm-8:00pm   W

UHON 401.006 Art and Human Nature  CRN: 53483

David Schwartz, dschwartz@randolphcollege.edu
11:00am-12:15pm   MW
Read the course description.


UHON 401.007 What Worlds May Come  CRN: 59266

Leslie Donovan, ldonovan@unm.edu
3:30pm-4:45pm   TR
Read the course description.