News Archives

UNM students immerse in Meow Wolf internships
September 30, 2021

Meow Wolf bills itself as an arts and entertainment company that “creates immersive and interactive experiences that transport audiences of all ages into fantastic realms of story and exploration.” But mere words fall far short of the actual reality of the kaleidoscopic, mind-bending,...

Honors College students showcase personal and political art in new exhibition
September 9, 2021

The University of New Mexico Honors College is getting ready to unveil the creative works of honors students in the exhibition, "New Visions."The exhibit will showcase a sampling of the artistic talent of honors students. The works range in media from photography to digital collage to video, yet...

Three Lobos honored by Udall Foundation
May 7, 2021


One chosen as Udall Scholar, two as honorable mentions University of New Mexico student Dana Lee was just announced as a 2021 Udall Scholar – a distinct honor she shares with only a few others around the country. Chenoa Scippio and Dora Bean, also UNM students, were selected as honorable...

UNM’s Emma Hotz named 2021 Truman Scholar
April 14, 2021


The University of New Mexico is proud to announce undergraduate student Emma Hotz is a 2021 Truman Scholar. The decision was made public through the Truman Scholarship Foundation on April 14, 2021. “What a tremendous accomplishment and a tremendous honor for Emma,” said UNM President Garnett...

Mayor proclaims April 10 as 'Scribendi Day'
April 9, 2021

Scribendi 2021

Scribendi, a national arts and literary magazine, has announced the release of the 35th anniversary of its publication with the upcoming 2021 edition. For more than three decades, The University of New Mexico-based magazine has been publishing the finest work from honors students around the...

2021 Goldwater Foundation Award announces four UNM winners
March 26, 2021

Goldwater Scholars copy

The 2021 Goldwater Foundation Awards were just announced, with all four nominees from The University of New Mexico named winners – all women. Ryla Josephine Cantergiani, Anna Janicek, Abigail Pribisova and Sophia Salbato are among just 410 Goldwater Scholarship awardees from across the United...